Community Grants & Funding

I am often contacted by charities and organisations that wish to expand their work and need financial support. There are often funds available through grants from both public and private organisations. They can, however, be hard to locate. I have collated a list below of both national and regional grants that charities and organisations can apply for. These grants are to support small, medium and large projects of all types.

For some projects, there may also be local companies that will support projects either through the donation of materials or offering their facilities free of charge. I would recommend individuals and charities to contact them for advice with their projects.

If you want information or support about fundraising and compliance issues there is some useful information here https://www.institute-of-fundraising.org.uk/guidance/

And here https://www.gov.uk/guidance/fundraising-legally-and-responsibly

This list is a work in progress, so if you know of any other grant making bodies in Dorset please do let me know, and I will add them to the list.

National Grants

A good place to start when searching for a grant is either Funding Central or Charities Aid Foundation, they have information on thousands of grants which can be filtered to your project's particular needs.

You can find both websites here; 

https://www.fundingcentral.org.uk/search.aspx

https://www.cafonline.org/

Lottery based Grants

Big Lottery Fund https://www.tnlcommunityfund.org.uk/

Arts Council National Lottery Project Grants https://www.artscouncil.org.uk/projectgrants

Heritage Lottery Fund https://www.hlf.org.uk/

People's Postcode Lottery http://www.postcodetrust.org.uk/

Health Lottery https://www.healthlottery.co.uk/good-causes/

Sports and Leisure Grants

Sport England https://www.sportengland.org/funding/small-grants/

Premier League & The FA Facilities Fund https://www.footballfoundation.org.uk/funding-schemes/premier-league-th…

Table Tennis England http://www.fundingforall.org.uk/funds/table-tennis-england-ping-in-the-…

Legacy Leisure http://www.legacyleisure.org.uk/Community-Grant-Form

Banks and Private Companies

Nationwide Foundation http://www.nationwidefoundation.org.uk/available-funding/

Natwest https://www.business.natwest.com/business/social-community-capital.html

Lloyds Bank Foundation https://www.lloydsbankfoundation.org.uk/

Aviva Community Fund https://community-fund.aviva.co.uk/voting/campaign/getinvolved

Greggs Foundation https://www.greggsfoundation.org.uk/grants/local-community-projects-fund

Calor Rural Community Fund https://www.calor.co.uk/communityfund/

Asda Foundation https://www.asdafoundation.org/what-we-fund

Morrisons Foundation https://www.morrisonsfoundation.com/grant-funding-request/

TSB Local Community Fund https://www.tsb.co.uk/community-partnerships/

Santander Foundation https://santanderfoundation.org.uk/pages/home

Tesco Community Grants https://www.groundwork.org.uk/Sites/tescocommunityscheme

 

Dorset Specific Grants

Dorset Community Foundation have a searchable database of grant making charities in Dorset. You can search by issue or area.

https://www.dorsetcommunityfoundation.org/who-we-help/dorset-charitable-trusts/

There is a list of useful funding organisations here https://www.dorsetyouth.com/funding

You can register your organisation with Dorset County Council and then use their FundFinder  https://www.dorsetforyou.gov.uk/your-community/support-for-voluntary-and-community-organisations/funding/dorset-fundfinder.aspx

The Talbot Village Trust fund capital projects in Dorset, and have application twice yearly. https://www.talbotvillagetrust.org/

If you are near a landfill site, you can apply to the Suez Landfill Communities Fund https://www.suezcommunitiestrust.org.uk/apply-for-funding/england/

Churches and Religious Groups

There are lots of grant making bodies on the Salisbury diocesan website https://www.salisbury.anglican.org/parishes/stewardship/useful-fundraising-website-links including links for community fundraising, and church building fundraising.

Sports & Education

Ed Kent Trust The object of the trust is to raise funds in order to provide grant aid to both individuals and to organisations, supporting youth cricket and other sports in Dorset http://edkenttrust.org/

Bridge Education Trust Grants for students and young people who live in Dorset https://www.bridgeeducationaltrust.org.uk/